{"product_id":"new-combination-therapy-shows-promise-for-advanced-triple-negative-breast-cancer-what-the-ascent-04-keynote-d19-trial-means-for-patients","title":"New Combination Therapy Shows Promise for Advanced Triple-Negative Breast Cancer: What the ASCENT-04\/KEYNOTE-D19 Trial Means for Patients","description":"\u003cp\u003eThis phase 3 clinical trial tested whether combining the antibody-drug conjugate sacituzumab govitecan with the immunotherapy drug pembrolizumab could improve outcomes for patients with previously untreated, PD-L1-positive, advanced triple-negative breast cancer. Among 443 patients across 28 countries, the combination significantly lengthened progression-free survival (median 11.2 months vs. 7.8 months) compared with standard chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab, with a 35% lower risk of disease progression or death. While overall survival data were not yet mature, the findings suggest this drug combination could become a new first-line treatment option for this aggressive breast cancer subtype.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003ch1\u003eNew Combination Therapy Shows Promise for Advanced Triple-Negative Breast Cancer: What the ASCENT-04\/KEYNOTE-D19 Trial Means for Patients\u003c\/h1\u003e\n\n\u003ch2\u003eTable of Contents\u003c\/h2\u003e\n\u003cul\u003e\n\u003cli\u003e\u003ca href=\"#ddn-key-points\"\u003eKey Points\u003c\/a\u003e\u003c\/li\u003e\n\n  \u003cli\u003e\u003ca href=\"#background\"\u003eUnderstanding Triple-Negative Breast Cancer\u003c\/a\u003e\u003c\/li\u003e\n  \u003cli\u003e\u003ca href=\"#why-this-matters\"\u003eWhy This Research Matters\u003c\/a\u003e\u003c\/li\u003e\n  \u003cli\u003e\u003ca href=\"#study-methods\"\u003eStudy Methods: How the Research Was Conducted\u003c\/a\u003e\u003c\/li\u003e\n  \u003cli\u003e\u003ca href=\"#key-findings\"\u003eKey Findings: Detailed Results\u003c\/a\u003e\u003c\/li\u003e\n  \u003cli\u003e\u003ca href=\"#safety\"\u003eSafety and Side Effects\u003c\/a\u003e\u003c\/li\u003e\n  \u003cli\u003e\u003ca href=\"#clinical-implications\"\u003eClinical Implications: What This Means for Patients\u003c\/a\u003e\u003c\/li\u003e\n  \u003cli\u003e\u003ca href=\"#limitations\"\u003eLimitations: What the Study Couldn't Prove\u003c\/a\u003e\u003c\/li\u003e\n  \u003cli\u003e\u003ca href=\"#recommendations\"\u003eRecommendations for Patients\u003c\/a\u003e\u003c\/li\u003e\n  \u003cli\u003e\u003ca href=\"#ddn-faq\"\u003eFrequently Asked Questions\u003c\/a\u003e\u003c\/li\u003e\n\u003cli\u003e\u003ca href=\"#source\"\u003eSource Information\u003c\/a\u003e\u003c\/li\u003e\n\u003c\/ul\u003e\n\n\u003c!-- ddn:keypoints:start --\u003e\n\u003ch2 id=\"ddn-key-points\"\u003eKey Points\u003c\/h2\u003e\n\u003cul\u003e\n\u003cli\u003eIn a trial of 443 patients, sacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab improved progression-free survival to 11.2 months versus 7.8 months with standard chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab.\u003c\/li\u003e\n\u003cli\u003eThe combination reduced the risk of disease progression or death by 35% in patients with previously untreated, PD-L1-positive, advanced triple-negative breast cancer.\u003c\/li\u003e\n\u003cli\u003eResponses lasted a median of 16.5 months with the new combination, compared with 9.2 months with standard treatment.\u003c\/li\u003e\n\u003cli\u003eSevere side effects were similar, but fewer patients stopped treatment due to side effects with sacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab (12% vs. 31%).\u003c\/li\u003e\n\u003cli\u003eOverall survival data were not yet mature; longer follow-up is needed to confirm whether the progression-free survival benefit translates into longer life.\u003c\/li\u003e\n\u003c\/ul\u003e\n\u003c!-- ddn:keypoints:end --\u003e\n\n\n\u003ch2 id=\"background\"\u003eUnderstanding Triple-Negative Breast Cancer\u003c\/h2\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eBreast cancer is the leading cause of cancer-related death in women worldwide, and triple-negative breast cancer (TNBC) is the most aggressive subtype. This form of cancer is called \"triple-negative\" because the tumor cells lack three key features that other breast cancers often have: estrogen receptors, progesterone receptors, and human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 (HER2). Because these receptors are absent, hormone-based therapies and HER2-targeted drugs don't work for TNBC, leaving chemotherapy and other approaches as the main options.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eThe prognosis for metastatic triple-negative breast cancer—meaning cancer that has spread beyond the breast to other parts of the body—has historically been poor. Only about 15% of patients with metastatic TNBC survive 5 years after diagnosis.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eHowever, there is a subgroup of patients who may have better options. About 40% of triple-negative breast cancers are \"programmed death ligand 1 (PD-L1)–positive,\" meaning the tumor cells produce a protein that helps them evade the immune system. This protein can be targeted by immunotherapy drugs.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003ch2 id=\"why-this-matters\"\u003eWhy This Research Matters\u003c\/h2\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eThe current preferred first-line treatment for patients with previously untreated, PD-L1-positive, metastatic triple-negative breast cancer is the immunotherapy drug pembrolizumab (Keytruda) combined with chemotherapy. This approach is based on the earlier KEYNOTE-355 trial, which showed that pembrolizumab plus chemotherapy (taxanes or gemcitabine–carboplatin) significantly improved outcomes compared with chemotherapy alone.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eIn KEYNOTE-355, patients whose tumors expressed PD-L1 (with a combined positive score of 10 or higher) had a median progression-free survival of 9.7 months with the combination versus 5.6 months with chemotherapy alone. Overall survival was also longer: a median of 23.0 months versus 16.1 months.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eDespite this improvement, there remained an unmet need. Approximately half of patients with metastatic triple-negative breast cancer do not receive treatment beyond the first line, meaning the opportunity to help them only comes once. Finding a more effective first-line therapy could therefore have a substantial impact on patient outcomes.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eThe ASCENT-04\/KEYNOTE-D19 trial was designed to test a different approach: replacing standard chemotherapy with sacituzumab govitecan, a newer type of targeted therapy, while keeping pembrolizumab in the regimen.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eSacituzumab govitecan is an antibody-drug conjugate. It works like a smart bomb: it is composed of an antibody that targets a protein called trophoblast cell-surface antigen 2 (Trop-2), which is commonly found on cancer cells, attached to a chemotherapy drug called SN-38 (a topoisomerase I inhibitor). The antibody delivers SN-38 directly to the cancer cells. Sacituzumab govitecan has already been approved in multiple countries for patients with metastatic triple-negative breast cancer who have received at least two prior systemic therapies, based on the phase 3 ASCENT trial that showed significant improvements in both progression-free and overall survival compared with chemotherapy.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eThe question researchers asked was: would sacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab work better than chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab as the first treatment for advanced TNBC? This is the question the ASCENT-04\/KEYNOTE-D19 trial set out to answer.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003ch2 id=\"study-methods\"\u003eStudy Methods: How the Research Was Conducted\u003c\/h2\u003e\n\n\u003ch3\u003eTrial Design and Patient Population\u003c\/h3\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eThis was a phase 3, open-label, randomized, international trial conducted at 186 sites across 28 countries. It enrolled 443 adults with previously untreated, locally advanced unresectable or metastatic triple-negative breast cancer whose tumors were PD-L1-positive, defined as a combined positive score of 10 or higher.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eThe combined positive score (CPS) is calculated by taking the number of PD-L1-staining cells (tumor cells, lymphocytes, and macrophages), dividing by the total number of viable tumor cells, and multiplying by 100. A score of 10 or higher indicates significant PD-L1 expression, which makes the cancer more likely to respond to immunotherapy.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003ePatients were required to meet specific criteria to be classified as having triple-negative breast cancer. This included having less than 1% of tumor cells positive for estrogen receptor or progesterone receptor, and a HER2 immunohistochemistry (IHC) result of 0, 1+, or 2+ with negative in situ hybridization. Both TNBC status and PD-L1 expression were confirmed centrally using a recent or archival tumor specimen and the PD-L1 IHC 22C3 pharmDx assay.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003ch3\u003eTreatment Groups\u003c\/h3\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003ePatients were randomly assigned in a 1:1 ratio (like a coin flip) to one of two treatment groups:\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cul\u003e\n  \u003cli\u003e\n\u003cstrong\u003eSacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab (221 patients):\u003c\/strong\u003e Sacituzumab govitecan was given intravenously at a dose of 10 mg per kilogram of body weight on days 1 and 8, and pembrolizumab was given intravenously at a dose of 200 mg on day 1 of 21-day treatment cycles.\u003c\/li\u003e\n  \u003cli\u003e\n\u003cstrong\u003eChemotherapy plus pembrolizumab (222 patients):\u003c\/strong\u003e Patients received one of three standard chemotherapy regimens chosen by their physician, plus pembrolizumab at 200 mg on day 1 of 21-day cycles. The chemotherapy options were:\n    \u003col\u003e\n      \u003cli\u003ePaclitaxel at 90 mg per square meter of body-surface area on days 1, 8, and 15 of 28-day cycles\u003c\/li\u003e\n      \u003cli\u003eNanoparticle albumin-bound (nab) paclitaxel at 100 mg per square meter on days 1, 8, and 15 of 28-day cycles\u003c\/li\u003e\n      \u003cli\u003eGemcitabine at 1000 mg per square meter plus carboplatin (at a dose targeting an area under the concentration–time curve of 2 mg per milliliter per minute) on days 1 and 8 of 21-day cycles\u003c\/li\u003e\n    \u003c\/ol\u003e\n  \u003c\/li\u003e\n\u003c\/ul\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eTreatment continued until disease progression was confirmed by blinded independent central review, unacceptable side effects, withdrawal of consent, or death. Pembrolizumab was given for a maximum of 35 cycles. Notably, patients who were in the chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab group were allowed to receive sacituzumab govitecan as a single agent after their disease progressed, if they met eligibility criteria—a study design feature called \"crossover.\"\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003ch3\u003eStratification and Blinding\u003c\/h3\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003ePatients were stratified (grouped) before randomization according to three factors:\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cul\u003e\n  \u003cli\u003eDisease status at the time of enrollment (metastatic at initial diagnosis, recurrent within 6 to 12 months after completion of curative-intent treatment, or recurrent more than 12 months after completion of curative-intent treatment)\u003c\/li\u003e\n  \u003cli\u003eGeographic region (Canada, the United States, or western Europe vs. the rest of the world)\u003c\/li\u003e\n  \u003cli\u003ePrevious exposure to an anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 agent given as adjuvant or neoadjuvant (before or after surgery) therapy (yes vs. no)\u003c\/li\u003e\n\u003c\/ul\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eThe trial was \"open-label,\" meaning both patients and doctors knew which treatment was being given. However, the key assessments of tumor response were performed by \"blinded independent central review,\" meaning that the radiologists evaluating the scans did not know which treatment the patient had received. This helps ensure unbiased evaluation of results.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003ch3\u003eEnd Points (What Was Measured)\u003c\/h3\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eThe primary end point of the trial was \u003cstrong\u003eprogression-free survival\u003c\/strong\u003e (PFS)—the length of time from randomization until the disease progressed or the patient died, whichever came first—as assessed by blinded independent central review. Key secondary end points included overall survival (how long patients lived), objective response rate (the percentage of patients whose tumors shrank or disappeared, i.e., complete or partial response), and duration of response. Patient-reported outcomes were also collected but not reported in this publication. Tumor assessments were done every 8 weeks during the first 18 months and every 12 weeks afterward, using either computed tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI).\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003ch3\u003ePatient Characteristics at Baseline\u003c\/h3\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eThe two treatment groups were well balanced in terms of demographics and disease characteristics. The median age was 54 years in the sacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab group (range 23 to 88) and 55 years in the chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab group (range 27 to 82). All patients were female. About 26% in each group were age 65 or older.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eBy race and ethnicity: 63% of patients in the sacituzumab group were White, 19% Asian, 6% American Indian or Alaska Native, 6% Black, and 5% other or not specified. In the chemotherapy group, 53% were White, 28% Asian, 6% American Indian or Alaska Native, 5% Black, and 8% other or not specified. All patients had PD-L1-positive tumors, by definition of the trial.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eRegarding disease status: 34% of patients in both groups had metastatic disease at initial diagnosis, 18% had recurrent disease within 6 to 12 months after completion of curative-intent treatment, and 48% had recurrent disease more than 12 months after completion of curative-intent treatment. The most common sites of metastasis were lymph nodes (72% in the sacituzumab group, 69% in the chemotherapy group), lung (50% vs. 43%), bone (28% vs. 20%), liver (25% vs. 26%), and brain (4% vs. 3%).\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eOnly a small number of patients had previously received anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 therapy: 4% in the sacituzumab group and 5% in the chemotherapy group. Among the chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab patients, 51% received a taxane (paclitaxel or nab-paclitaxel) and 49% received gemcitabine plus carboplatin.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003ch3\u003eTrial Oversight and Statistical Design\u003c\/h3\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eThe trial was sponsored by Gilead Sciences and conducted in collaboration with Merck Sharp and Dohme (the maker of pembrolizumab). The sponsor designed and conducted the trial, gathered data, and performed the data analysis with the investigators. An independent data-monitoring committee provided oversight and routinely reviewed safety data. All patients provided written informed consent, and the trial was approved by an institutional review board or independent ethics committee at each site. It was conducted in accordance with international Good Clinical Practice guidelines.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eThe trial was designed to enroll approximately 440 patients. The statistical plan required 227 events of disease progression or death to have 90% power to detect a hazard ratio of 0.65 at a two-sided significance level of 5%. Hierarchical (stepwise) testing was used to control the overall error rate. At the time of the primary analysis, overall survival and objective response results were planned to be summarized descriptively, with conservative thresholds for formal testing later.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003ch2 id=\"key-findings\"\u003eKey Findings: Detailed Results\u003c\/h2\u003e\n\n\u003ch3\u003ePatient Enrollment and Follow-Up\u003c\/h3\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eA total of 443 patients were enrolled between October 17, 2022, and August 21, 2024. At the data-cutoff date of March 3, 2025, the median follow-up was 14.0 months (ranging from 0.1 to 28.6 months).\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eAt the time of the data cutoff, 43% of patients in the sacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab group were still receiving trial treatment, compared with 23% in the chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab group. The most common reason for discontinuing treatment was disease progression: 37% of patients in the sacituzumab group and 55% in the chemotherapy group stopped their cancer treatment due to progression. Adverse events led to discontinuation in 8% of the sacituzumab group and 18% of the chemotherapy group.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003ch3\u003eProgression-Free Survival (Primary End Point)\u003c\/h3\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eThe results clearly favored the sacituzumab govitecan combination. There were 109 events of disease progression or death among the 221 patients receiving sacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab, and 140 events among the 222 patients receiving chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eThe median progression-free survival was \u003cstrong\u003e11.2 months\u003c\/strong\u003e (95% confidence interval [CI], 9.3 to 16.7) with sacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab, versus \u003cstrong\u003e7.8 months\u003c\/strong\u003e (95% CI, 7.3 to 9.3) with chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab. This translates to a hazard ratio for disease progression or death of \u003cstrong\u003e0.65\u003c\/strong\u003e (95% CI, 0.51 to 0.84; two-sided P\u0026lt;0.001).\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eIn plain terms, this means patients receiving the sacituzumab govitecan combination had a 35% lower risk of their disease progressing or dying at any given time compared with those receiving chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab. The P value of less than 0.001 means there is less than a 0.1% chance that this difference was due to random chance—it is a statistically highly significant result.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eThe benefit appeared early and was sustained. At 6 months, 72% of patients in the sacituzumab group were alive without disease progression, compared with 63% in the chemotherapy group. At 12 months, the corresponding figures were 48% versus 33%, and at 18 months, they were 33% versus an estimated lower percentage in the chemotherapy group.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eImportantly, the progression-free survival benefit was consistent across all predefined patient subgroups, including those defined according to age, disease status, and geographic region. An investigator-assessed sensitivity analysis confirmed the finding: median progression-free survival was 11.3 months (95% CI, 9.2 to 14.6) with sacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab versus 8.3 months (95% CI, 7.3 to 9.3) with chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab (hazard ratio, 0.67; 95% CI, 0.52 to 0.87).\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003ch3\u003eOverall Survival\u003c\/h3\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eAt the time of this primary analysis, overall survival data were not yet mature. Only 26% of the total patients had died, and the median overall survival had not been reached in either treatment group. The researchers noted that, as planned, the overall survival results would be formally tested at later timepoints once more data accumulate. Among patients who discontinued chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab, 119 received subsequent treatment; of those, 96 patients (81%) received sacituzumab govitecan as subsequent anticancer therapy during the crossover phase of the trial.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003ch3\u003eObjective Response and Duration of Response\u003c\/h3\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eThe percentage of patients who had an objective response (complete or partial shrinkage of their tumors) was \u003cstrong\u003e60%\u003c\/strong\u003e in the sacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab group (95% CI, 53 to 66), compared with \u003cstrong\u003e53%\u003c\/strong\u003e in the chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab group (95% CI, 46 to 60).\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eAmong patients who responded to treatment, the duration of response was notably longer with the sacituzumab combination. The median duration of response was \u003cstrong\u003e16.5 months\u003c\/strong\u003e (95% CI, 12.7 to 19.5) with sacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab, versus \u003cstrong\u003e9.2 months\u003c\/strong\u003e (95% CI, 7.6 to 11.3) with chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab. This means that when tumors did respond, the response lasted nearly 7 months longer on average in the sacituzumab group—a difference that can be very meaningful for patients wanting to avoid a quick return of disease.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003ch2 id=\"safety\"\u003eSafety and Side Effects\u003c\/h2\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eThe overall rate of serious side effects was similar between the two groups. Grade 3 or higher adverse events occurred in \u003cstrong\u003e71%\u003c\/strong\u003e of patients receiving sacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab and \u003cstrong\u003e70%\u003c\/strong\u003e of those receiving chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab. Side effects were graded according to the National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events, version 5.0, where grade 3 means severe or medically significant events and grade 4 means life-threatening events.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eHowever, there was a notable difference in how often side effects led to stopping treatment. Treatment discontinuation due to adverse events occurred in \u003cstrong\u003e12%\u003c\/strong\u003e of patients in the sacituzumab group, compared with \u003cstrong\u003e31%\u003c\/strong\u003e in the chemotherapy group. This suggests that while both regimens caused side effects at similar rates, patients receiving sacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab were better able to continue their treatment.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eAdverse events leading to death occurred in 3% of patients in each group—a similar rate in both arms. The specific side effect profiles were consistent with what is already known about these drugs from prior studies. The researchers noted that the safety results were collected and coded according to the Medical Dictionary for Regulatory Activities, version 27.1.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003ch2 id=\"clinical-implications\"\u003eClinical Implications: What This Means for Patients\u003c\/h2\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eThis trial demonstrates that sacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab is a more effective first-line treatment than chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab for patients with previously untreated, PD-L1-positive, advanced triple-negative breast cancer. The 3.4-month improvement in median progression-free survival, combined with a 35% reduction in the risk of progression or death, is a clinically meaningful advance.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003ePerhaps even more striking is the near-doubling of the median duration of response: from 9.2 months to 16.5 months. For patients who respond, this means their disease is kept under control for substantially longer. Responding patients may also experience better quality of life by avoiding the burden of disease progression for longer periods.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eThe fact that fewer patients in the sacituzumab govitecan group stopped treatment due to side effects (12% vs. 31%) is also reassuring. Even though overall severe side effect rates were similar, the chemotherapy-plus-pembrolizumab regimen was more often intolerable enough to require stopping.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eFor the medical community, these findings may change the standard of care. If regulatory approvals follow, patients newly diagnosed with PD-L1-positive advanced triple-negative breast cancer could be offered sacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab as their first treatment rather than chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab. This is especially important because approximately half of patients with metastatic triple-negative breast cancer never receive a second line of treatment, making the first-line choice particularly consequential.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003ch2 id=\"limitations\"\u003eLimitations: What the Study Couldn't Prove\u003c\/h2\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eEvery clinical trial has limitations, and this one is no exception. Perhaps the most important limitation is that \u003cstrong\u003eoverall survival data were not yet mature\u003c\/strong\u003e at the time of this report. While progression-free survival—a surrogate measure—clearly favored the sacituzumab combination, we do not yet know whether this translates into patients living longer. The fact that 81% of patients in the chemotherapy group who progressed went on to receive sacituzumab govitecan through crossover may actually dilute any overall survival difference, because patients in both groups ultimately had access to the newer drug.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eAnother limitation is that the trial was open-label (not double-blinded). While the tumor assessments were performed by blinded reviewers, both patients and treating physicians knew which treatment was being given. This can potentially introduce bias in how patients are managed, though the rigorous independent review of scans helps mitigate this concern.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eThe trial enrolled only patients with PD-L1-positive disease (CPS ≥10), so the results do not apply to the roughly 60% of triple-negative breast cancer patients whose tumors are PD-L1-negative. Additionally, all participants were female in this trial, which reflects the epidemiology of TNBC but means we have limited data on male patients with this disease subtype.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eThe median follow-up was relatively short at 14.0 months, and long-term safety data—particularly for the sacituzumab govitecan combination—are still accumulating. Patient-reported outcomes, which measure how patients feel and function, were collected but not yet reported; these will be important to fully assess whether the progression-free survival benefit translates into better quality of life.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003ch2 id=\"recommendations\"\u003eRecommendations for Patients\u003c\/h2\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eIf you or a loved one has been diagnosed with advanced triple-negative breast cancer, here is what this research means in practical terms:\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cul\u003e\n  \u003cli\u003e\n\u003cstrong\u003eAsk about PD-L1 testing.\u003c\/strong\u003e The benefits shown in this trial apply specifically to patients whose tumors are PD-L1-positive with a combined positive score of 10 or higher. If you haven't had this testing yet, talk to your oncologist about getting it done.\u003c\/li\u003e\n  \u003cli\u003e\n\u003cstrong\u003eDiscuss first-line treatment options.\u003c\/strong\u003e This trial suggests that the combination of sacituzumab govitecan and pembrolizumab may be more effective than chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab as an initial treatment. Ask your doctor whether this combination is approved or available for your situation, and whether you might be eligible for a clinical trial.\u003c\/li\u003e\n  \u003cli\u003e\n\u003cstrong\u003eWeigh the benefits and risks.\u003c\/strong\u003e Both treatment approaches caused grade 3 or higher side effects in about 70% of patients, but patients receiving sacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab were less likely to stop treatment due to side effects and had longer-lasting responses. Discuss with your oncologist how the side effect profiles of these drugs compare and how they might affect your daily life.\u003c\/li\u003e\n  \u003cli\u003e\n\u003cstrong\u003eStay informed about follow-up results.\u003c\/strong\u003e Overall survival data are still maturing. Continue to follow this trial's results as they are updated, and ask your oncology team if they have seen the latest data.\u003c\/li\u003e\n  \u003cli\u003e\n\u003cstrong\u003eRemember that this is one piece of evidence.\u003c\/strong\u003e Every patient's situation is unique. Factors such as the location and extent of metastasis, prior treatments, other health conditions, and personal preferences all matter in choosing the best treatment. This study provides compelling evidence, but the decision about your care should be made together with your medical team.\u003c\/li\u003e\n\u003c\/ul\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eFor patients who have already received chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab and are facing disease progression, this trial also reinforces the value of sacituzumab govitecan as a subsequent treatment—81% of patients who progressed in this trial received it as follow-up therapy, and it is already approved in many countries for patients who have received at least two prior systemic therapies.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eIn summary, the ASCENT-04\/KEYNOTE-D19 trial provides strong statistical evidence that sacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab is a more effective first-line treatment than the current standard of chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab for PD-L1-positive advanced triple-negative breast cancer. While longer follow-up is needed to confirm overall survival benefits, the marked improvement in progression-free survival and duration of response, along with the favorable treatment-discontinuation profile, makes this combination a potentially practice-changing option for patients facing this challenging disease.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003c!-- ddn:faq:start --\u003e\n\u003ch2 id=\"ddn-faq\"\u003eFrequently Asked Questions\u003c\/h2\u003e\n\u003ch3\u003eWhat is triple-negative breast cancer and why is it so hard to treat?\u003c\/h3\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eTriple-negative breast cancer lacks estrogen, progesterone, and HER2 receptors, so hormone therapy and HER2-targeted drugs do not work. It is the most aggressive breast cancer subtype. In advanced stages, about 15% of patients survive five years. Treatment relies on chemotherapy and newer targeted approaches, with immunotherapy helping for PD-L1-positive tumors.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003ch3\u003eWhat does PD-L1-positive mean and why is it important for my treatment?\u003c\/h3\u003e\n\u003cp\u003ePD-L1 is a protein on some tumor cells that helps them hide from the immune system. About 40% of triple-negative breast cancers are PD-L1-positive, with a combined positive score of 10 or higher. These cancers are more likely to respond to immunotherapy drugs like pembrolizumab, which can be combined with chemotherapy or other treatments to improve outcomes.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003ch3\u003eWhat new treatment was tested in this trial for advanced triple-negative breast cancer?\u003c\/h3\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eResearchers tested combining sacituzumab govitecan, an antibody-drug conjugate that delivers chemotherapy directly to cancer cells, with pembrolizumab, an immunotherapy drug. This was compared against standard chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab as first-line treatment for patients with previously untreated, PD-L1-positive, advanced triple-negative breast cancer. The trial enrolled 443 patients across 28 countries.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003ch3\u003eHow effective was the new combination compared to standard treatment in this trial?\u003c\/h3\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn the trial, sacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab lengthened progression-free survival to a median of 11.2 months versus 7.8 months with chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab. This meant a 35% lower risk of disease progression or death. Tumor responses also lasted longer: 16.5 months versus 9.2 months. Overall survival data were not yet mature.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003ch3\u003eWhat were the side effects of the new treatment combination?\u003c\/h3\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSevere side effects, grade 3 or higher, occurred in about 71% of patients receiving sacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab, similar to the 70% in the chemotherapy group. However, fewer patients stopped treatment due to side effects: 12% versus 31%. Adverse events leading to death were the same, at 3% in each group.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003ch3\u003eWho is eligible for this new treatment combination?\u003c\/h3\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe trial included adults with previously untreated, locally advanced unresectable or metastatic triple-negative breast cancer that was PD-L1-positive with a combined positive score of 10 or higher. All participants were female. Patients had not received prior systemic therapy for advanced disease, though a small number had earlier received immunotherapy as adjuvant or neoadjuvant treatment.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003ch3\u003eWhat should I ask my doctor about treating advanced triple-negative breast cancer?\u003c\/h3\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAsk about PD-L1 testing to see if your tumor is PD-L1-positive with a score of 10 or higher. Discuss whether sacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab is an approved or available first-line option. Also ask about the side effect profiles and whether you might qualify for a clinical trial. Stay informed about follow-up results, as overall survival data are still maturing.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003ch3\u003eIf I have PD-L1-positive advanced triple-negative breast cancer, should I get a second opinion about whether sacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab is the right first-line treatment for me?\u003c\/h3\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn the ASCENT-04\/KEYNOTE-D19 trial, patients with previously untreated, PD-L1-positive (CPS≥10) advanced triple-negative breast cancer who received sacituzumab govitecan plus pembrolizumab had a median progression-free survival of 11.2 months compared with 7.8 months for chemotherapy plus pembrolizumab, a 35% lower risk of progression or death. The duration of response was also longer (16.5 vs 9.2 months). Since this combination may now be considered as first-line therapy, a second opinion can help confirm your tumor's PD-L1 status and whether this treatment fits your situation. Diagnostic Detectives Network provides independent expert second opinions.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003c!-- ddn:faq:end --\u003e\n\n\u003ch2 id=\"source\"\u003eSource Information\u003c\/h2\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eOriginal Article Title:\u003c\/strong\u003e Sacituzumab Govitecan plus Pembrolizumab for Advanced Triple-Negative Breast Cancer\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eDOI:\u003c\/strong\u003e \u003ca href=\"https:\/\/doi.org\/10.1056\/NEJMoa2508959\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\"\u003e10.1056\/NEJMoa2508959\u003c\/a\u003e\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eJournal:\u003c\/strong\u003e The New England Journal of Medicine, 2026;394:354-366\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eDOI:\u003c\/strong\u003e 10.1056\/NEJMoa2508959\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eFunding:\u003c\/strong\u003e Gilead Sciences\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eClinical Trial Registration:\u003c\/strong\u003e ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT05382286\u003c\/p\u003e\n\n\u003cp\u003eThis patient-friendly article is based on peer-reviewed research published in The New England Journal of Medicine. It is intended for educational purposes and does not constitute medical advice. Patients should consult their healthcare providers about any treatment decisions.\u003c\/p\u003e","brand":"DiagnosticDetectives.Com","offers":[{"title":"Default Title","offer_id":47494455820444,"sku":null,"price":0.0,"currency_code":"RUB","in_stock":true}],"url":"https:\/\/diagnosticdetectives.ru\/products\/new-combination-therapy-shows-promise-for-advanced-triple-negative-breast-cancer-what-the-ascent-04-keynote-d19-trial-means-for-patients","provider":"DiagnosticDetectives.Com","version":"1.0","type":"link"}